Thursday, October 29, 2015

Indy 500 Winners

The Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum has just about all of the cars that won the famed 500 including this 1911 Marmon Wasp which won the very first one. Also is the National Motor Company's 1912 entry which won the second ever race.
This 1921 Duesenberg had won that year's French Grand Prix. When it returned home the driver, Jimmy Murphy, bought the car, replaced the engine and then drove it to victory in the 1922 Indy 500.
23-year-old Louis Meyer, who would eventually win three 500s, won the 1928 race driving this car created by the legendary Harry Miller.
Another Miller powered car won in 1932. Starting in 27th place driver Fred Frame overcame temperature problems to win the race. In fact he took the lead on lap 152 and was never passed.
This straight eight dual supercharged Maserati won two straight 500s in 1939 and 1940, becoming the first car (and driver - Wilbur Shaw) to win back-to-back races. The car raced through 1950 chalking up two thirds and one fourth place finish.
"Curly" Wetteroth built what he called the Noc-Out_Hose Clamp Special and entered it in the 1941 event. With the car running 12th, the team owner ordered up a change in drivers and Mauri Rose took over, driving it to victory.
In 1938 Art Sparks was commissioned to build two unique cars to race for Joel Thorne. World War II put the 500 on hold but in 1946, English born George Robson drove this one to victory. It would prove to be the team's only win.
The second car and driver to win back-to-back races came in 1947 and 1948 when Mauri Rose drove this Emil Diedt designed car powered by an Offenhauser engine to consecutive victories.
There are plenty more winning cars on display at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum ( and more will be coming tomorrow. In the mean time, check out their web site and plan your own trip to the track. As always, feel free to leave a comment or drop me an email at

1 comment: